Latest News Stories


Attention songwriters: Nominations are now open for the Taite Music Prize 2017.

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country's most highly respected music journalists, this will be the eighth year for the award.

The Taite Music Prize recognises outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album.

 The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, to be spent as they wish – with thanks to Founding Partner of the Taite Music Prize Recorded Music NZ

Additionally through the support of Red Bull Studios Auckland, the winner receives recording time at the Auckland studios, alongside a years supply of Red Bull product.

Acknowledging originality, creativity and musicianship regardless of sales figures or genre, the Taite Music Prize was established to champion the finest release by a New Zealand artist or group.

The overall winner will be announced at a presentation on Tuesday 18th April 2017.

Alongside the main prize, there are two additional awards to be given out at the ceremony: the already established Independent Music NZ Classic Record and a newly-created award that celebrates the freshest talent of Aotearoa. More details to come.

All event nominations close 5.00pm on 7th February 2017.

For more details on specific eligibility and nomination forms please visit:

Previous Taite Music Prize winners are:

2010 - Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)

2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)

2012 - Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)

2013 – SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)

2014 – Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)

2015 – Jakob – Sines (Shoot The Freak)

2016 – Silicon - Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)

Previous Independent Music NZ Classic Record recipients are:

2013 - Gordons – Gordons (Flying Nun)

2014 - AK79 – Various (Ripper Records)

2015 - Herbs – What’s Be Happen? (Warrior Records)

2016 – Upper Hutt Posse – E T? (Jayrem Records)

Taite Music Prize, NZ Music