Splitter are an Auckland based power-pop band originally formed by Andrew Thorne, Wayne Bell, Kurt Shanks and Matt Meehan.

Splitter released their debut album ‘Stereo happiness’ in 2000 to much critical acclaim.

The band underwent a line-up change shortly after the release, due to the untimely death of Matt Meehan and Kurt Shank’s rising success in NZ pop band Stellar*.

Bassist Aidan Phillip-Phillips and actor/musician Joel Tobeck joined the fold in 2001 and Splitter recorded and released a new album in August 2002 entitled ‘Devil in the Detail’, a collection of 70’s inspired rock n roll stompers such as ‘Go You Good Thing’ and ‘I Don’t Rate Your Man’ as well as some beautiful lilting ballads like ‘Doubtless Bay’.

Splitter is a band of serious musicians but this confidently accomplished bunch just want to have a good time writing songs, rocking out and playing guitar…lots of guitar.

Kudos for ‘Stereo Happiness’

NZ Herald, 2000

For ‘Devil in the Detail’

"Auckland powerpop outfit Splitter is another band showing that brains and populism aren't mutually exclusive"
Russell Baillie, NZ Herald, September 2002

Listen to their music here -