Tom Irvine has played professionally throughout the country for 20 years. Raised in central Auckland with strong ties to the Hokianga, he was turned on to music through his father’s eclectic record collection - in particular, favourites Little Feat and Jimi Hendrix.

As well as playing solo shows of his original compositions and guesting with horn-stomp ignitors Hopetoun Brown, Tom has lent his guitar talents to acts including folk band Nourishment, fusion rockers The Mercenaries, soul group The Reputations (aka The Sugarhits) plus the Fleetwood Mac tribute band, The Landslide Show.

Tom is a finger-style guitarist who plays with a clean, traditional tone reminiscent of George Harrison or Mark Knopfler. The influence of heavier rock styles, along with a funky feel, adds a joyful touch to his playing.

Tom’s songwriting style combines powerful chord progressions and funky guitar hooks with strong, simple melodies in a traditional yet inspired pop structure. This is enhanced by a soulful feel and solid, up-tempo grooves which makes for a compelling live experience.


Soulful vocals, dual harmonies and an infectious back beat give Bonfire Baby their signature sound. Rootsy guitar licks and honking saxophone melody lines add to the band’s unique vibe.
Tom Irvine has assembled a cracker-jack group of players who compliment his songs - creating a band that blends traditional rock, soul and country in a unique way.

Bonfire Baby are: Tom Irvine - Guitar/Vocals, Sophia Fa’alogo- Vocals, Matt Shanks - Bass, Ben Campbell - Saxophone/Percussion, and Neill McCulloch- Drums

Bonfire Baby's album is an exciting collection of 7 songs recorded at The Lab Studios, with Olly Harmer at the helm. La Niña is a sweet instrumental with a lilting guitar melody reminiscent of The Allman Brothers. Better Days and In The End are classic soulful pop songs with an uptempo feel, enhanced by hooky saxophone lines, and uplifting choruses.

Gone Crazy and Dirtyskirt Blues show a ‘stoner rock’ element of the band with powerful mesmeric grooves. Turn My Head continues the harder rock theme with a verse riff that brings ACDC to mind. No Mercy features a great vocal performance from Sophia Fa’alogo in a funky soul groove.

Listen to his music here -!artist?id=325400


This Auckland 3-piece plays classic guitar pop with a country twang- blending gritty riffs and sweet melodies. Tom Irvine is joined on bass by London session musician John Blackburn and Danish drummer, Henrik Rylev.

With songs inspired by heartbreak, euphoria and world travel, guest performances include background vocals from Reb Fountain and the haunting accordion of Gareth Thomas on stand out ballad Luella. Watch Your Step and Silver Lining are powerful, melodic rock tunes whereas Everything To Everyone and Hear Me Calling are more traditional pop songs that flow easily from laid-back verses to big choruses. No Things To Lose and Winding Road are dirty, country funk grooves while Hopeless Case is amore melancholy offering featuring mournful harmonica by Ben Maitland. 

Listen to their music here -!explorer?b=3504012