Mistake Theory


Mistake Theory

Alan Brown and Johnny Fleury formed Mistake Theory in mid-1998. The initial inspiration was from Trip-Hop bands like Massive Attack and Portishead, quickly growing to encompass a range of influences from UK drum n'bass to industrial electronica.

Vocalist Sonya Todd joined soon after, and Matthias Sudholter arrived late 1998 adding a human element to the rhythms.

A 5-track demo was recorded. The band decided to gauge internet interest on mp3.com. The results were unprecedented, gaining an Artist Spotlight on mp3.com and huge interest globally and here in New Zealand. 

Recording continued and a self-titled CD was released early 2000 followed by a few later singles.

Listen to their music here -


Read more about them here -