Latest News Stories

Music the winner on the night of APRA Silver Scrolls 2017

The 2017 APRA NZ Silver Scroll Awards took place last night in Dunedin, with the Southern city, imbued with its history of music innovation, showing us how it's done.

For the second time Lorde has taken the APRA Silver Scroll Award for her song 'Green Light'.

Lorde has won New Zealand's top songwriting award for the second time.

Claiming the honour at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards last night in Dunedin, Lorde won the award along with her co-writers Jack Antonoff and Joel Little.

Unable to attend, she sent a video message expressing her surprise and delight.

Another highlight was the induction of Flying Nun band The Clean into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame with a spirited tribute from poet David Merrit, film-maker Stuart Page and musicians Astro Children and Billy TK.

Alien Weaponry won the APRA Maioha Award, for their distinctive Te Reo rock anthem Raupatu,  Salina Fisher won the SOUNZ contemporary Award for her composition Torino and Tim Prebble won Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award for his score for A Thousand Ropes.

Songbroker composer Peter Hobbs was nominated for Best Original Music in a Series Award for his beautiful soundtrack for Jean, but Claire Cowan took out the honours on the night for Hillary.

Shayne Carter was the musical director of proceedings and put on an exciting show with thoughtful, unique renditions of nominees' songs.

APRA Silver Scroll Awards, APRA AMCOS NZ, Lorde, The Clean, Ariana Tikao, Peter Hobbs