Latest News Stories

Waiheke Electronic Collective W.I.SO. Release "Three Little Words"

Waiheke wunderkinds W.I.S.O. (The Waiheke International Soul Orchestra) have released their debut dub-jam "Three Little Words" - the result of recent recording sessions with veteran NZ engineer Nick Abbott. 

In the past 12 months W.I.S.O have supported kiwi acts such as Yoko Zuna, Sorceress, Latin Aotearoa, P-Diggs and Sunshine Sound System. W.I.S.O have headlined Okere Falls Winter Festival, The Cavell Leitch Jazz and Blues Festival as part of The Blue Smoke series and started work on our debut album WISO-1081 with Nick Abbott (Robert Plant, Rihanna, Golden Horse, The Datsuns). 

The band plan to release their songs steadily, one month at a time, to create more of a "play-list" for listeners given the variety of the material on the album. From Electronic | Soul | Funk | Drum n Bass | Dub | Percussion Collective, the music spans a wide palette that reflects the international nationalities of its members that include an Argentinian, Maori, Brit, American, Australian and more, all of whom call the lush bohemian setting of Waiheke Island (post code 1081) home.

Recorded and tracked on the island at the local Eco Village, the band scouted the community hall with producer, Abbott because of its local reputation for amazing acoustics. The hall itself is made from adobe mud brick and with a high ceiling proved a rewarding sonic experience for the collective with Abbott bringing his full arsenal of recording studio on site. 

Stay tuned for more exciting tracks from the sessions over the summer of 2018 and beyond.

W.I.S.O., Solomon Cole Band, Nick Abbot, Waiheke Island