Latest News Stories


Wellington singer-songwriter Thomas Oliver has won the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Award with his captivating love song ‘If I Move To Mars’.

The accolade acknowledges excellence in songwriting and has in the past been awarded to some of the most recognisable names and songs in New Zealand music, from the Swingers’ ‘Counting The Beat’ and Bic Runga’s ‘Drive’ to Scribe and P Money’s ‘Not Many’ and Lorde and Joel Little’s ‘Royals’.

Thomas Oliver says, “On the surface, it's a light-hearted song about taking someone to Mars and lying in the dirt, drinking Cognac and listening to records. But at its core, it's a love song and I meant every word."

“It’s a wonderful thing to recognise talented and hardworking songwriters like Thomas” says Anthony Healey, Head of NZ Operations for APRA AMCOS. “The acclaim of your peers is special, it’s the highest praise and in this case a well-deserved accolade.”

Sean James Donnelly (SJD) was the musical director of the 51st APRA Silver Scrolls ceremony, which saw a host of other Kiwi songwriters collect awards.

Rob Ruha took the esteemed APRA Maioha Award for the second time, recognising exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori, for his stirring battle anthem ‘Kariri’.

Wellington composer and violinist, Salina Fisher, won the SOUNZ Contemporary Award for her composition‘Rainphase’, inspired by the beauty and chaos of rain in the capital.

The APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award was won by Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara for their work on the Lee Tamahori-directed movie Mahana.

Karl Steven, received the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award for the drama 800 Words.

Rounding off the evening was the induction of Moana Maniapoto into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.  Moana Maniapoto was honoured for the significant impact she has had on the New Zealand life and culture through her music.

The winner of all awards were:

APRA Silver Scroll Award: Thomas Oliver – ‘If I Move to Mars’

APRA Maioha Award: Rob Ruha – ‘Kariri’

SOUNZ Contemporary Award: Salina Fisher – ‘Rainphase’

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award:

Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper + Tama Waipara – Mahana

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award: Karl Steven – ‘800 Words’

Hall of Fame: Moana Maniapoto

APRA AMCOS NZ, APRA Silver Scroll Awards, Thomas Oliver, Moana Maniapoto, Rob Ruha