Latest News Stories


Emerging talent sits alongside some of the most prominent names in New Zealand music in this year’s rich and varied list of Top 20 songs vying for the coveted APRA Silver Scroll Award.

Four talented Songbroker artists have made the grade this year. Songs include Andrew Keoghan's (and Aeroplane staffer Wayne Bell's) electro pop offering Stuck In Melodies, Benjamin Morley's haunting song The Hours - performed by Mice On Stilts, Gareth Thomas's catchy pop hit All Eyes In The Room and Devin Abrams' spacious soulful track Buried By The Burden.

Voting on the shortlist will take place from now until August 14 by Apra's 10,000 members.

The award will be presented at at Auckland's Vector Arena on September 29.

Get voting fellow writers!


10 Years - Seth Haapu

A Lake - Lawrence Arabia

All Eyes in the Room - Gareth Thomas

All Over You - Leisure

August Song - The Sami Sisters

Buried by the Burden - Pacific Heights ft. Louis Baker

Don't Rate That - David Dallas

Dream - Lydia Cole

Give Up Your Dreams - The Phoenix Foundation

Harmony House - Dave Dobbyn

If I Move to Mars - Thomas Oliver

Love Will Be A River - Holly Arrowsmith with Fly My Pretties

March - Electric Wire Hustle ft. Deva Mahal

One Question - Yoko-Zuna ft. Laughton Kora

Pedestrian Support League - Street Chant

Pocket - Miloux

Stuck in Melodies - Andrew Keoghan and Wayne Bell

The First Man - Tami Neilson/Jay Neilson

The Hours - Mice On Stilts (Benjamin Morley)

We Will Rise Again - Shayne P. Carter

APRA Silver Scroll Awards, Songwriters, Benjamin Morley, Mice On Stilts, Andrew Keoghan, Wayne Bell, Devin Abrams, Gareth Thomas