Raised in Taupo, New Zealand, Drew recorded his first demos in Melbourne, 1985, with friends Robbie Dillan (Colin Hay Band), Bill McDonald and Max Chazan (Paul Kelly Band), Steve Williams (Jo Jo Zep) and James Reyne(Australian Crawll.

He formed his first band, The Rockweilers, in 1985 playing bars and clubs in Melbourne. In 1986 he joined party band, Rooda, with Pete Warren (DD Smash), Dave Gent (Dance Exponents) and Andy Langsford (Legioneers) for a rocking six months around NZ, including some special guests such as Dave Dobbyn, Graham Brazier, Dave Mcartney, Dilworth Karaka and Charlie Tumahai (Herbs) and The Narcs. The band recorded an EP at Stebbings Studio in Auckland.

In 1987 Drew teamed up with Pete again, Paul Scott, Ace Mason (Pop Mechanix) and Martin ONeill (Murphy's Law) to form Big Trouble, the house band for the Palladium niteclub in Christchurch. Special guests included Malcolm Foster (Pretenders, Simple Minds) and many more.

Big Trouble recorded a bunch of songs at Niteshift Studio and from those demo's the band were offered a deal with Melodian Records in Melbourne through Molly Meldrum.

Big Trouble became a three piece in 1989 with Pete on drums, Marty on bass and Drew on gat. They toured around the South Island staying in Queenstown for the winter, disbanding soon after.

In 1990 Drew travelled to LA on a troubador journey meeting some great friends along the way.

Drew's solo career began in 1994 after meeting up with old friend Ross McDermott(The Cats Away). The two started plotting how to record Drew's first CD. TV appearances followed a few years later and finally in 2000, he released his debut solo album, Out Comes The Sun.

The album was produced by Ross McDermott and included Ross (bass and keys), Geoff Hern (bass), Michael Stirling (gat), Micky Ututoanga (drums), Dean Chandler, Shalleen Hern and Natalie Elms (bv's). The title track was included on NZOnAir's contemporary hitdisc.

 Drew moved to Melbourne (Mornington Peninsula) in 2002 with his family and in 2004 released The Waters Edge through Soundvault.com.au. Two songs from The Waters Edge where placed on the Australian soap, Neighbours. In 2006 on New Years Day, he recorded  Live In The Lounge solo,  at Donnelly's Crossing, Northland, NZ.

In October 2007 Drew began recording Be Still with Chris Haylock (drums) and Peter Kaighan (double bass) which was released in February 2009 through Ode Records NZ. The Album received rave revues and Peaceful Now was placed on Indie radio TheColoradoWave.com reaching millions of listeners worldwide. 

Drew is nearing completion of his 5th CD working with Michael Barker from John Butler Trio (drums ) and Rob Paterson from OMC (bass)

Stay tuned!

Listen to his music here -